Click to enlarge
Self Portrait = 2 LP = (LP)
One of the most controversial albums in Bob Dylans remarkable catalog, the 1970 double-LP Self Portrait continues to exercise a considerable fascination amongst Dylan devotees. Released on the heels of the artists game-changing Nashville Skyline, Self Portrait offered a quirky assortment of studio and live tracks, encompassing Dylan originals as well as covers of familiar pop and folk numbers, recorded with an all-star musical cast. At the time of its original release, the sprawling, unconventional Self Portrait generated an immense amount of discussion and disagreement amongst Dylans admirers. The ongoing controversy surrounding the album has been fueled over the years by Dylan himself. At various times, Dylan has defended Self Portrait as a heartfelt artistic statement, dismissed it as a joke and described it as a concerted effort to escape the pressures of his unwanted status as the voice of a generation. Whatever the artists actual intentions, Self Portrait retains a unique niche in the hearts of Dylan devotees, and is often cited as an early landmark in the birth of alternative country. Self Portraits highlights include the Dylan originals "Wigwam," later featured in the Wes Anderson film The Royal Tenenbaums; "Living the Blues," subsequently covered by artists ranging from Leon Redbone to Antony Hegarty; and "The Mighty Quinn (Quinn the Eskimo)," which Manfred Mann had turned into a British Invasion hit in 1968. The latter song is one of a quartet of live tracks drawn from Dylans legendary performance with The Band at the historic Isle of Wight festival, along with memorable versions of the Dylan standards "Like a Rolling Stone," "Minstrel Boy" and "She Belongs to Me." Also featured are Dylans readings of a variety of outside material, ranging from his iconic interpretation of the rural folk song "Copper Kettle" to his distinctive takes on such familiar tunes as Paul Simons "The Boxer," Gordon Lightfoots "Early Mornin Rain" and the vintage Everly Brothers hits "Let It Be Me" and "Take a Message to Mary." Sundazed has restored this one-of-a-kind release to its original double-LP format. Mastered from the original analog master tapes, the album is pressed on
389 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 6-10 days.
Type: LP
Recorded: 1970
Release Date: 2009-10-27
Label: Sundazed Music Inc.
Country: US
Item No: SUZ5122.1
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 All the tired horses - 3:12
02 Alberta no. 1 - 2:57
03 I forgot more than you'll ever know - 2:23
04 Days of '49 - 5:27
05 Early morning rain - 3:34
06 In search of little sadie - 2:27
07 Let it be me - 3:00
08 Little sadie - 2:00
09 Woogie boogie - 2:06
10 Belle isle - 2:30
11 Living the blues - 2:42
12 Like a rolling stone - 5:18
Browse by artist: BOB DYLAN - 58 items Show as list
CD Used
55 SEK
Fallen Angels
69 SEK
Hard Rain
69 SEK
Pages:  [1 2  3 
Items per page: [25] 50 100 
Next page