Click to enlarge
Bright Lights : The Albums 1979 - 1981 = 5 CD = (CD)
UK five CD set. This release collects together the three albums released by the influential classic hard rock and NWOBHM band, Samson, featuring lead guitarist Paul Samson, as well as a live set from 1981. Samson's career goes back to the mid-1970s London pub and club circuit. The band are renowned for being at the forefront of what became known as the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal (or NWOBHM), alongside Iron Maiden, Angel Witch, Def Leppard and Saxon. Produced by Gillan's John McCoy, Samson released debut Survivors in 1979, featured on CD One, by which time the band had coalesced around lead guitarist Paul, drummer Thunderstick, bass guitarist Chris Aylmer. The then unknown singer going by the Monty Python inspired name Bruce Bruce, now much better known as Bruce Dickinson joined after the album had been put to tape. As well as the 'Mr. Rock 'N' Roll' single, bonus tracks include alternative versions of seven tracks from "Survivors" featuring Bruce on vocals. In 1980 Samson released Head On, featuring the NWOBHM classic single 'Vice Versa', and the first full album to feature Bruce Dickinson's vocals. The album also features the song 'Thunderburst' co-written with Iron Maiden's Steve Harris. The bonus cuts are 'Angel With A Machine Gun' (7" B-Side), 'Kingsway Jam' and 'Vice Versa' (7" Edit). CD3 is the whole of the Head On album, remixed by Tony Platt, and available on CD for the very first time. Samson looked poised to enter the big time with 1981's Shock Tactics on CD4. Kicking off with the Russ Ballard penned rocker 'Riding With The Angels', the album includes the classic 'Earth Mother' and features the bonus tracks 'Little Big Man', 'Pyramid To The Stars' and 'Losing My Grip'. This 5CD set finishes with their triumphant show at the 1981 Reading Festival when they played on a bill featuring Gillan, Rose Tattoo and Billy Squier. In a show kicking off with 'Big Brother' and featuring 'Nice Girl', 'Earth Mother', 'Vice Versa', and 'Riding With The Angels', it remains a fitting tribute to this early era of Samson.
399 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 6-10 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2019
Release Date: 2019-06-29
Label: Hear No Evil Recordings
Country: Euro
Item No: HNEBOX119
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 It's Not As Easy As It Seems
02 I Wish I Was The Saddle Of A Schoolgirl's Bike
03 Big Brother
04 Tomorrow Or Yesterday
05 Koz
06 Six Foot Under
07 Inside Out
08 Wrong Side Of Time
09 Bonus Tracks
10 Mr Rock 'n' Roll
11 Primrose Shuffle
12 Alternative Recordings With Bruce Dickinson On Vocals
Browse by artist: SAMSON - 7 items Show as list
CD Used
95 SEK
Head On
219 SEK
Head On = LP =
159 SEK
The Masters