Click to enlarge
New Born Day (CD)
"New Born Day", originally released in 1973, is widely regarded as one of the best albums from the Norwegian prog scene. It was the debut album from one of the flagships in Norwegian music - Ruphus. A band that through its first lifetime from 1970 to 1981 had more members than a football team, and developed from playing hard, progressive rock to becoming a leader in jazz rock. "New Born Day" was was conceived in a house in Meråker (near Trondheim) in the summer of 1973. A whole month was spent in this house before the band entered the studio with producer Stein Robert Ludvigsen. The crew of this milestone album featured seven members, of which Kjell Larsen (guitar) and Asle Nilsen (bass, flute) were the only ones who participated on all the records until 1981. The album revealed a band with clear references to foreign powers such as King Crimson, Jethro Tull, Yes and Savage Rose - the latter thanks to Gudny Aspaas, who was equipped with an exceptionally powerful voice. With two singers in front - the male vocals by Rune Sundby - Ruphus marked themselves as a band in a league of their own. Luckily, producer Ludvigsen succeeded in making a recording that sounds fresh even today. At the same time, "New Born Day" is clearly a product of its time, a document from a period of rock history as goal-conscious musicians performed their music in the same room at the same time. "New Born Day" is the first in a series of Ruphus re-issues from Karisma Records, remastered from the original masters by Jacob Holm-Lupo (White Willow, The Opium Cartel, etc).
149 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 8-12 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 1973
Release Date: 2019-03-20
Label: Karisma Records
Country: Euro
Item No: KAR162CD
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Coloured Dreams
02 Scientific Ways
03 Still Alive
04 The Man Who Started It All
05 Trapped In A Game
06 New Born Day
07 Day After Tomorrow