Click to enlarge
Fauna (CD)
While their first two full-length albums were acclaimed in their own right, 2013's The Mountain began a snowball effect for progressive sextet Haken, conjuring up a small, yet fervent amount of reverence among fans that has only grown in stature as it's rolled downhill over the past decade. What's curious about this development is the group's artistic response to it; the '70s prog-influenced theatrical ethos of The Mountain hasn't been outright abandoned, so much as it's been unstably paired against increasingly recent musical trends. The unabashed '80s pastiche of Affinity and the more modern progressive metal leanings of Vector and Virus have certainly polarized listeners. Many have lauded the group's ability to progress while remaining loyal to their musical origins, while others have derided their increased affection for djenty breakdowns and anachronistic Roland synth sounds. I'm an outlier in the sense that I believe each Haken album since 2013 has been stronger than the last, with Virus being their most complete and artistically accomplished project thus far. Undoubtedly, this burdens Fauna with a plethora of expectations, few of which went unmet for me. With the exception of one major misstep, Fauna has an argument as Haken's strongest effort yet, a dense thicket of diverse sounds that functions as both a nostalgic trip down memory lane and a confident step into the future.
219 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2023
Release Date: 2023-03-03
Label: Inside Out
Country: Euro
Item No: IOM667
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Taurus 4:49
02 Nightingale 7:25
03 The Alphabet Of Me 5:34
04 Sempiternal Beings 8:24
05 Beneath The White Rainbow 6:45
06 Island In The Clouds 5:46
07 Lovebite 3:49
08 Elephants Never Forget 11:07
09 Eyes Of Ebony 8:32
Browse by news - 200 items Show as list
219 SEK
Mirror To The Sky
LP Used
200 SEK
Midvinterblot = LP =
LP Used
300 SEK
Unbound = LP =
LP Used
275 SEK
Köhntarkösz = LP =
169 SEK
199 SEK
Stone Unturned
99 SEK
219 SEK
Pages:  [1 2 
Items per page: 25 50 [100] 
Next page