Click to enlarge
IV = Digipack = (CD)
For some heavy metal bands, such words as "growth" and "maturation" to describe a new album could signal the beginning of the end. But both descriptions are fitting -- in a good way -- on the fourth release overall by Southern metallists Maylene & the Sons of Disaster, imaginatively titled IV. On their earlier releases, the group's singer, Dallas Taylor, relied a bit too much on Phil Anselmo-isms (namely, hollering). But on IV, the group focuses more on the Southern rock side of things, and injects more melody into the proceedings to boot. A perfect example of this hybrid is the tune "Faith Healer (Bring Me Down)," which is so melodic that it sounds like it could be an honest-to-goodness rock radio hit. Elsewhere, the aforementioned "boogie element" is much more apparent, especially on such selections as "In Dead We Dream" (which contains a gargantuanly greasy riff that would make both Clutch and Down green with envy), "Open Your Eyes," "Taking on Water," "Fate Games," and "Cat's Walk." And like all good Southern rockers past and present, Maylene & the Sons of Disaster just can't turn down an opportunity to pick up their acoustics and strum away, as evidenced by "Drought of '85." However, to keep listeners on their toes, the album closes with an artsy-fartsy bit, "Off to the Laughing Place." If you're looking for some modern-day muscular boogie, you've come to the right place with Maylene & the Sons of Disaster's IV. ~ Greg Prato, Rovi
159 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 10-14 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2011
Release Date: 2011-09-27
Label: Ferret Records
Country: US
Item No: FRET60142.2
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 In dead we dream - 3:16
02 Save me - 4:00
03 Faith healer (bring me down) - 3:37
04 Open your eyes - 3:15
05 Killing me slow - 4:04
06 Taking on water - 4:05
07 Fate games - 2:16
08 Come for you - 3:59
09 Never enough - 2:51
10 Cat's walk - 2:37
11 Drought of '85 - 4:11
12 Off to the laughing place [instrumental] - 3:27
Browse by label: Ferret Records - 9 items
[All itemsA B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V w X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 
Show as list