Click to enlarge
New Born Day = LP = (LP)
Ruphus were one of the most varied Norwegian progressive rock bands in the sense that they often would change their style from album to album, but always within a progressive frame. They started out as a quite big heavy prog band, featuring no less than seven members. On their debut "New Born Day" they had two lead vocalists, male and female. Gudny Aspaas was one of the very best Norwegian female singers in the 70's, possessing a high pitched and flawless voice that had no peer in Norway at that time. The male singer Rune Sundby was unfortunately quite the opposite, delivering some embarrassingly weak English vocals that slightly weakens the otherwise good impression of a very solid album. The opener "Coloured Dreams" is rather straightforward hard rock, but things do get a lot more complex and progressive in "Scientific Ways". That track along with "Still Alive" and especially the title-track features some very slight influences from Gentle Giant, but still apparent enough to be detected (at least in my ears). "Trapped in A Game" is Aspaas' definitive moment on the album, a kind of a progressive and grandiose ballad that allows her to display her voice and range in all its impressive glory. Among the other musicians we find keyboardist Håkon Graf who had a quite powerful organ sound, and some very sparse use of synths (although that would change a lot later). Bassist Asle Nilsen also delivered some atmospheric flute on a few brief passages, the most noteworthy one probably at the end of "Scientific Ways". "The Man Who Started It All" is similar to what Uriah Heep did at the same time, but the closer "Day After Tomorrow" is the longest, most complex and progressive piece on the record, actually sounding a lot like Aunt Mary's "Janus" album from the same year. "New Born Day" is for many people a classic of Norwegian progressive rock.
269 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: LP
Recorded: 1973
Release Date: 2019-03-02
Label: Karisma Records
Country: Euro
Item No: KAR162LP
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Coloured Dreams 4:04
02 Scientific Ways 5:59
03 Still Alive 4:35
04 The Man Who Started It All 5:28
05 Trapped In A Game 6:06
06 New Born Day 5:43
07 Day After Tomorrow 8:47
149 SEK
Flying Colours
159 SEK
Inner Voice
139 SEK
Browse by artist: RUPHUS - 14 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   Flying Colours
149 SEK
2   Inner Voice
159 SEK
3   Let Your Light Shine
149 SEK
4   Manmade
139 SEK
5   New Born Day
149 SEK
6   Ranshart
139 SEK
7   Flying Colours = LP =
289 SEK
8   Inner Voice = LP =
299 SEK
9   Let Your Light Shine = LP =
289 SEK
10   Manmade = LP =
279 SEK
11   Manmade = LP, White =
299 SEK
12   New Born Day = LP =
269 SEK
13   New Born Day = LP, White =
299 SEK
14   Ranshart = LP =
249 SEK
 CD Album   LP