Click to enlarge
The Black Light = 2 CD Digipack = (CD)
As during the group's whole career, The Black Light Bacchanalia reveals the full range of Virgin Steele's epic and at the same time tough music. Their songs are always powerful yet intricate, featuring tasteful chord changes, spherical atmospheres and raw rock/metal instrumentation. "My special challenge as the tracks' composer is to process my ideas, which I worked out on the piano, into metal songs on guitar, bass and drums while keeping to their original concept. That's a real struggle every time and requires a lot of concentration at the studio." Because - and this is something which certainly can't be said of the majority of tracks produced by other metal bands - all Virgin Steele compositions also work if performed by piano and vocals alone. A real phenomenon, but one that's symptomatic of this group. At the same time, The Black Light Bacchanalia features a number of interesting innovations which are cleverly integrated into typical Virgin Steele ingredients: in addition to guitarist Edward Pursino's 6 string flurries, guitarist Josh Block recorded a number of passages on seven-string guitar, which naturally affects the song's structure and tone colour. "I feel that a lot of harmonies sound darker and heavier than usual due to the seven-string guitar," DeFeis points out. The drums also sound extremely powerful, dynamic and vibrant. "We consciously opted for a kind of live drum sound," says the Virgin Steele boss, "creating a raw, very energetic flair, comparable to John Bonham's drum style."
189 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2010
Release Date: 2010-10-25
Label: Steamhammer
Country: Euro
Item No: SPV308430
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 By the hammer of zeus (and the wrecking ball of thor)
02 Pagan heart
03 The bread of wickedness
04 In a dream of fire
05 Nepenthe (i live tomorrow)
06 The orpheus taboo
07 To crown them with halos (parts 1 & 2)
08 The black light bacchanalia (the age that is to come)
09 The tortures of the damned
10 Necropolis (he answers them with death)
11 Eternal regret
Disc 2
01 When i'm silent (the wind of voices) (bonus track)
Browse by artist: VIRGIN STEELE - 14 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   Age Of Consent = Rerelease 2 CD =
209 SEK
2   Guardians Of The Flame
159 SEK
3   Invictus = 2 CD =
139 SEK
4   Live Among The Ruins = Digipack =
129 SEK
5   Nocturnes Of Hellfire & Damnation
279 SEK
6   Nocturnes Of Hellfire & Damnation
169 SEK
7   Nocturnes Of Hellfire & Damnation = ...
279 SEK
8   The Black Light = 2 CD Digipack =
189 SEK
9   The Black Light Bacchanalia
99 SEK
10   The House Of Atreus Act I & II = 3 C...
179 SEK
11   The Marriage Of Heaven And Hell - Pa...
169 SEK
12   Virgin Steele 1
159 SEK
13   Virgin Steele = LP =
299 SEK
14   Visions Of Eden : The Lilith Project...
189 SEK
 CD Album   LP