Click to enlarge
From Her To Eternity = LP = (LP)
Nick Cave launched his solo career in style with From Her to Eternity, an accomplished album mixing the frenzy and power of his Birthday Party days with a dank, moody atmosphere that showed he was not interested in simply continuing what the older group had done. To be sure, Mick Harvey joined him from the Party days, as ever playing a variety of instruments, while one-time Party guest Blixa Bargeld now became a permanent Cave partner, splitting his time between the Bad Seeds and Einsturzende Neubaten ever since. The group took wing with a harrowing version of Leonard Cohen's "Avalanche," Cave's wracked, buried tones suiting the Canadian legend's words perfectly, and never looked back. From Her to Eternity is crammed with any number of doom-laden songs, with Cave the understandable center of attention, his commanding vocals turning the blues and rural music into theatrical exhibitionism unmatched since Jim Morrison stalked stages. Songs like "Cabin Fever," with its steadily paced drumming and relentless piano line, and the more restrained and moody "The Moon Is in the Gutter" sound like cabarets in hell. "In the Ghetto," already perfectly suited to such a treatment, shows the underlying sense of beauty that defines the Seeds as much as drama. Even though it's a Presley cover, the sense of Scott Walker's influence isn't far away at all. The title track is and remains a Bad Seeds classic, played at shows up through the present, a tense piano/organ beginning then accompanied by the edgy build of the band, pounding drums, stabbing feedback and keyboard parts and more.
289 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Similar artists: GRINDERMAN
Type: LP
Recorded: 1984
Release Date: 2014-08-22
Label: Mute
Country: Euro
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Avalanche
02 Cabin Fever!
03 Well Of Misery
04 From Her To Eternity
05 Saint Huck
06 Wings Off Flies
07 A Box For Black Paul
Browse by artist: NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS - 6 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   From Her To Eternity = LP =
289 SEK
2   Push The Sky Away = Deluxe Edition, ...
199 SEK
3   Skeleton Tree = LP =
259 SEK
4   The Firstborn Is Dead = LP =
249 SEK
5   Where The Wild Roses Grow = Digipack...
75 SEK
6   Your Funeral ... My Trial
75 SEK
 CD Album   LP