Click to enlarge
Victim Of Your Father's Agony (CD)
Norwegian band Arabs in Aspic released their sixth album this past spring, an effort taking almost two years. Victim of Your Father's Agony presents more 70s-influenced hard prog rock and a welcome companion to their previous album Pictures in a Dream. And the new album sounds a bit more diverse. The opening song "You Can Prove Them Wrong" is replete with heavy Hammond organ riffs, hard rock guitar solos, and gratifying vocal harmonies. On the second tune, "Sad without You," the band is a bit experimental with a reversed track intro to a pseudo-pop ballad in the style of The Beatles. Then they kick things into high gear with "One," an organ and guitar dominated hard rock song with Mellotron and twinned guitar lines, similar to a combination of Wishbone Ash and Deep Purple. Track four, "The Turk and the Italian Restaurant," is a funky bass and organ instrumental with what sounds like Moog synth lines, making me think of Edgar Winter's "Frankenstein." The next track, "God Requires Insanity," could easily be a lost Black Sabbath track. "TV 3" is a short new wave/hard rock hybrid. Then there is the entertaining "Flight of the Halibut" with its driving bass line, guitar, and rousing Mellotron riffs. Track eight, "Saint-Palais-Sur-Mer Pt. 2," goes in a new direction with beautiful acoustic guitar and synth, drawing comparisons in my mind to Amazing Blondel. The album closes with the excellent title track, Mellotron and twinned guitar lines. Overall, quite a satisfying listening experience, and though Victim of Your Father's Agony is not a major step forward, it is obvious that the band is evolving and maturing.
159 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2015
Release Date: 2015-10-21
Label: Black Widow
Country: Euro
Item No: BWRCD185
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 You Can Prove Them Wrong 3:56
02 Sad Without You 3:25
03 One 6:12
04 The Turk And The Italian Restaurant 2:42
05 God Requires Insanity 8:21
06 Tv 3 1:39
07 Flight Of The Halibut 4:08
08 Saint-palais-sur-mer Pt. 2 1:04
09 Victim Of Your Father's Agony 5:58
Browse by artist: ARABS IN ASPIC - 7 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   Live At Avantgarden = Digipack =
159 SEK
2   Live In Avantgarden = LP =
249 SEK
3   Live In Avantgarnde = LP, Red =
369 SEK
4   Pictures In A Dream
159 SEK
5   Syndenes Magi
149 SEK
6   Syndenes Magi = LP, Blue Vinyl =
299 SEK
7   Victim Of Your Father's Agony
159 SEK
 CD Album   LP