Click to enlarge
At The Little Theatre (CD)
It's not your father's Pentangle anymore. Indeed, it hasn't been for some time, with Bert Jansch having flitted the picture some years ago. Only McShee remains from the old guard, surrounded by veterans (mostly from John Martyn's band, it appears). Inevitably, some songs associated with the old Pentangle are covered, like "I've Got a Feeling," "Once I Had a Sweetheart," and a couple of others, but the emphasis these days isn't on guitar, but more of a group dynamic. A fair bit of the material was developed from the group's Passe Avant studio set, using a lot of the jazz sensibility that was part of the ideal. It's a reinvention of the Pentangle esthetic, if you will. And while it's pleasant -- McShee can still sing wonderfully and the guys are all very capable musicians -- there never seems to be much of an edge to it; it certainly lacks the feel of barrier-breaking that the band's first incarnation had. Maybe that's natural; after all, what else is there for McShee and company to do? The best thing to do with this is put aside all thoughts of the Pentangle name and its associations and take it on its own terms. Do that, and while you might not be staggered, you'll still be pleased. ~ Chris Nickson, Rovi
169 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 10-14 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2000
Release Date: 2000-07-12
Label: Park Records
Country: Euro
Item No: PRKCD53
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 She moved through the fair
02 Jabalpur
03 Once i had a sweetheart
04 The nightingale
05 That's the way it is
06 The house carpenter
07 I've got a feeling
08 The bonny greenwood side
09 Cruel sister
10 The wife of ushers well
11 Lovely joan
12 We'll be together again
139 SEK
Cruel Sister
Browse by artist: PENTANGLE - 11 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   Anthology = 2 CD =
149 SEK
2   At The Little Theatre
169 SEK
3   Basket Of Light = LP, Yellow / Orang...
329 SEK
4   Cruel Sister
139 SEK
5   Early Classics
199 SEK
6   In The Round
129 SEK
7   Live On Air 1967-1969 = 2 CD, Digipa...
199 SEK
8   One More Road & Live 1994 = 2 CD =
159 SEK
9   Pentangle
129 SEK
10   Pentangle = LP =
249 SEK
11   The Albums 1968 - 1972 = 7 CD Box =
749 SEK
 CD Album   LP