Click to enlarge
Lost Legends Of Surf Guitar 1: Big Noise From (CD)
This collection of 20 surf instrumentals, all recorded in 1963 and 1964, is very much what you might expect of an anthology of lesser-known surf music on a quality reissue label such as Sundazed. That is, it's good, though not nearly as good as the very best '60s instrumental surf music anthologies, and can be confidently recommended to surf collectors. That's not only because it's rare (mostly originally done for very small labels) and pretty good, but also because even the biggest surf collectors won't have all of this, as eight of the tracks were previously unissued. There aren't many names among the artists that will strike chords of recognition, though the Pyramids of "Penetration" fame are here (with their Gary Usher-arranged 1963 cuts "Pressure" and "Contact"); Jim Messina was part of the Jesters, whose previously unissued recording of "The Jester" was produced and co-written by the then-teenaged prodigy; and the Original Surfaris (not to be confused with the Surfaris of "Wipe Out" fame), the Centurions, and Dave Myers all have their devotees among surf fanatics. There aren't many truly killer cuts, though the finest trademarks of surf music -- the monstrously reverbed guitar, the Latin and Middle Eastern-inflected melodies, the sleek tempos -- are in force more or less throughout. But there are some numbers that would stand comfortably on any cream-of-the-'60s surf collection, like the Chandelles' "El Gato" (produced in New Mexico by ex-Buddy Holly producer Norman Petty) and Dave Myers' "Gear," with the almost military crunch of its rhythms.
179 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 6-10 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2003
Release Date: 2003-06-24
Label: Sundazed Music Inc.
Country: US
Item No: SUZ11126.2
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 El gato - 2:23 (chandells)
02 Loophole - 2:38 (royal coachmen)
03 Big noise from waimea [#] - 2:56 (ebb tides)
04 Gear! - 1:54 (myers dave [1] & the surftones)
05 The breeze and i - 1:48 (steve & the emperors)
06 Failsafe [#] - 2:17 (original surfaris)
07 Jetster - 2:10 (chandells)
08 The rising surf [#] - 1:49 (tandems)
09 Contact - 1:53 (pyramids [surf])
10 Surfs up - 2:03 (original surfaris)
11 Cemetary stomp - 2:23 (essex [3])
12 The jester [#] - 2:26 (jesters [3])
Browse by artist: VARIOUS ARTISTS - 1115 items Show as list
150 SEK
10 Classic Rock Stamps
139 SEK
LP Used
150 SEK
A Full House = LP =
CD Used
35 SEK
Pages:  [1 2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10   
Items per page: 25 [50] 100 
Next page