Click to enlarge
XXXV = Reissue = (CD)
Neither fish nor foul, Fairport Convention holds a position somewhere between traditional English and contemporary Celtic music. Although mostly acoustic, electric bass, and piano make appearances, and while the bandmembers enjoy the folk songs of yesteryear, they also pen new material. The band's approach and style also separate them from the folk-rock of the Richard Thompson/Sandy Denny era, which rocked quite a bit harder. XXXV celebrates the band's long history by dipping into a few old favorites like "I Wandered by a Brookside" and "The Deserter." The group plays as a collective unit, offering a nice blend of mandolin, fiddle, and guitar along with energetic percussion. There's a relaxed version of "The Banks of the Sweet Primroses" and a stately take on Thompson and Dave Swarbrick's "Now Be Thankful." Anna Ryder's vocals add a nice touch to "The Crowd," and Ian Anderson offers some fancy flute work on "Portmeirion." Interestingly, this latter instrumental reminds one of other new acoustic compositions by outfits like New Grange, another band on the Compass label. While all of the selections are performed competently and professionally, a certain sameness seeps into the proceedings halfway through the album. It's as though the music has become too safe, too predictable. Fans of Fairport, however, will enjoy sitting down with a pint of their favorite beverage and taking a long look back at the band's illustrious history. [This edition contains bonus tracks.]
109 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 6-10 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2007
Release Date: 2007-05-01
Label: Eagle Records
Country: US
Item No: EGLR20110.2
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Madeleine - 4:25
02 My love is in america - 4:45
03 The happy man - 2:50
04 Portmeirion - 5:58
05 The crowd - 6:06
06 The banks of sweet primroses - 4:29
07 The deserter - 6:57
08 The light of day - 6:13
09 I wandereed by a brookside - 4:54
10 Neil gow's apprentice - 4:43
11 Everything but the skirl - 4:07
12 Talking about my love - 2:42
Browse by artist: FAIRPORT CONVENTION - 29 items Show as list
 Previous page
Pages:  1  [2
Items per page: [25] 50 100