Click to enlarge
American Inquisition = Digipak = (CD)
Over the years, Christian Death have epitomized what could be called the "revolving door syndrome" in rock -- in other words, the band has had so many lineup changes (one right after another) that it is hard to stay on top of who is and isn't a Christian Death member. Some admirers of Christian Death's early-'80s recordings will, of course, argue that the 2007 lineup heard on American Inquisition -- singer, guitarist, and keyboardist Valor Kand; singer and bassist Maitri; and drummer Nate Hassan -- is Christian Death in name only, and that no lineups since the departure of the late Rozz Williams in the mid-'80s deserve to be called Christian Death. This highly conceptual effort (which is best described as goth rock, darkwave, and alternative rock) has received a wide variety of reviews on the Internet; some reviewers have trashed it while others have praised it -- and the truth is somewhere in the middle. American Inquisition is a worthwhile, if uneven and sometimes self-indulgent, outing that takes dead aim at one of Christian Death's favorite targets -- far-right Christian fundamentalists -- and points out the disturbing alliance between Christianity's lunatic fringe (which doesn't speak for all Christians) and the George W. Bush Administration. The eyes of some listeners will no doubt roll when Christian Death get into kooky conspiracy theories claiming that the 9/11 terrorist attacks were staged not by al-Qaeda, but by a secret society of globalists who the Bush Administration is in cahoots with -- a theory that is impossible to take seriously because the neocons' abysmal track record (invading Iraq without a coherent game plan, Hurricane Katrina, a staggering federal deficit) is the work of bumbling, incompetent fools, not people sophisticated enough to carry out elaborate conspiracies. Nonetheless, American Inquisition is an intriguing listen despite its excesses, and truly die-hard Christian Death followers will find things to appreciate about this 69-minute CD even though it isn't among the band's essential releases.
89 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 6-10 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2007
Release Date: 2007-10-23
Label: Season of Mist
Country: US
Item No: SEM31166B.2
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Water into wine - 5:54
02 Stop bleeding on me - 4:00
03 Narcissus metamorphosis of - 5:38
04 Victim x - 5:50
05 To disappear - 4:23
06 Dexter said no to methadone - 4:18
07 Angels and drugs - 4:57
08 Seduction thy destruction - 5:06
09 Workship along the nile - 4:17
10 See you in hell - 5:08
11 Surviving armageddon - 5:34
12 The last thing - 4:44
CD Used
85 SEK
Browse by artist: CHRISTIAN DEATH - 12 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   Only Theatre Of Pain = LP =
179 SEK
2   Prophecies
85 SEK
3   Only Theatre Of Pain
139 SEK
4   Skeleton Kiss
119 SEK
5   Sleepless Nights - Live 1990
149 SEK
6   American Inquisition = Digipak =
89 SEK
7   Ashes
159 SEK
8   Jesus Points The Bone At You
59 SEK
9   Love & Hate
109 SEK
10   The Scriptures = LP =
299 SEK
11   Deathwish = LP =
229 SEK
12   Atrocities
179 SEK
 CD Album   CD Single   LP