Click to enlarge
Fields Of People : The Recordigs 1968-1969 = 2 CD, Digipak = (CD)
Esoteric Recordings is pleased to announce the release of a new re-mastered 2 CD anthology featuring all of the recordings by the American Psychedelic / Progressive band ARS NOVA released by Elektra & Atlantic records in 1968 and 1969. Formed in New York City in 1967 by two former students from the Mannes College musical conservatory, Wyatt Day (guitar, keyboards, vocals), Jon Pierson (trombone, vocals) and Maury Baker (drums). The line-up was expanded by the addition of Jonathan Raskin (bass, backing vocals, guitar) and Giovanni Papalia (lead guitar). After spending some time rehearsing in rural Vermont, the band added Bill Folwell to their ranks on double bass and trumpet. Coming to the attention of manager Arthur Gorson (who also managed Phil Ochs and Judy Collins) the band secured an audition for Jac Holzman's Elektra label and secured a contract soon after. The band's self-titled debut album was recorded at Sunset Sound studios in Los Angeles and was produced by Paul Rothchild (noted for his work with The Doors, Love et al). The ARS NOVA album was certainly ground-breaking for it's use of unconventional instrumentation and for taking influences from the worlds of rock, ethnic and classical music. One fan of the album was ROY WOOD of British band THE MOVE (who would record a cover of Ars Nova's Fields of People on their 1970 album Shazam!) ARS NOVA was issued in 1968 to much critical acclaim, but the band's line-up made it difficult for the music to translate well on the concert stage. Appearances opening for The Doors failed to boost the band's fortunes and the initial line-up of the band broke up soon afterwards. With Jonathan Raskin joining the band Rhinoceros, Day and Pierson gathered together a new line-up featuring Sam Brown (lead guitar), Joe Hunt (drums and percussion), Art Koening (bass), Jimmy Owens (trumpet) and Warren Bernhardt (keyboards). This revamped version of Ars Nova would record their final album, the equally imaginative SUNSHINE & SHADOWS, for Atlantic Records in late 1968 in New York City. The album release was inexplicably delayed for nearly a year by Atlantic Records and any momentum gained by further critical praise was lost. Increas
219 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 1969
Release Date: 2020-03-01
Label: Esoteric Recordings
Country: Euro
Item No: QECLEC22711
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Pavan For My Lady (fall
02 Winter
03 Summer
04 And Spring)
05 General Clover Ends A War
06 And How Am I To Know
07 Album In Your Mind
08 Zarathustra
09 Fields Of People
10 Automatic Love
11 I Wrapped Her In Ribbons (after Ibiza)
12 Song To The City
Browse by artist: ARS NOVA (US) - 2 items
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   Sunshine & Shadows
99 SEK
2   Fields Of People : The Recordigs 196...
219 SEK
Others also bought
159 SEK
159 SEK
159 SEK