Click to enlarge
Diamond Nights (CD)
Diamond Nights is yet another compilation of material from Diamond Head's classic 1980 album Lightning to the Nations. What separates this from previous reissues is that these are the original mixes taken from the master tapes. Brian Tatler had remixed most of this material in 1986 for release on Behold the Beginning. Long-time fans cried foul, but it was this batch of remixes that have been the only ones in print until this point. Diamond Nights contains the original mixes, plus eight bonus cuts, and marks the first time this material has been widely available in America. The seven cuts that comprised the original Lightning to the Nations LP still remain the best, especially "It's Electric," "Helpless," "Am I Evil," and "The Prince." Coincidentally, all four were later covered by Metallica and released on Garage Inc. A song like "Sucking My Love" is a reminder of why pundits hailed Diamond Head as the second coming of Led Zeppelin. The epic length, slow build-up and Plant-esque vocals are definitely reminiscent of Led Zeppelin's sound, yet the Spinal Tap lyrics keep the comparison from being fully valid. The bonus tracks are nice but not essential, and some may wonder why Metal Blade chose to scramble the original running order of the seven songs from Lightning to the Nations. Although there was hope that their fast and clean update of monster Black Sabbath riffs would make them the shining stars of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement, Diamond Head never equaled the success of peers Iron Maiden or Def Leppard. All the same, this release highlights the best the band had to offer in exceptional sound and should be considered essential to both the curious and the converted. ~ Brian Downing, All Music Guide
159 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 6-10 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2000
Release Date: 2000-11-21
Label: Metal Blade
Country: US
Item No: MTB14336.2
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 We won't be back - 4:15
02 Sweet and innocent - 3:10
03 Streets of gold - 3:30
04 The prince - 6:24
05 Helpless - 6:51
06 I don't got - 4:21
07 Lightning to the nations - 4:13
08 Play it loud - 3:30
09 It's electric [remix] - 3:34
10 Am i evil? - 7:40
11 Waited too long - 3:49
12 Sucking my love - 9:28
Browse by artist: DIAMOND HEAD - 25 items Show as list
149 SEK
LP Used
120 SEK
Canterbury = LP =
LP Used
115 SEK
Makin' Music = LP =
Items per page: 25 [50] 100