Click to enlarge
Raindances : The Transatlantic Recordings 1973-1975 = 2 CD = (CD)
UK two CD anthology featuring every track from the four albums released by Gryphon on the Transatlantic label between 1973 and 1975. One of the most original groups to emerge in the progressive era, Gryphon came together at the instigation of Royal College of Music students Richard Harvey and Brian Gulland, initially as a vehicle to fuse traditional English music with Medieval and Renaissance music influences. Utilizing various traditional instruments such as Crumhorns, Recorders, Bassoons and Mandolins, Gryphon expanded with the addition of Graeme Taylor on guitar and Dave Oberle on drums and percussion. Singing to Transatlantic Records, Gryphon released their eponymous debut album in June 1973. The uniqueness of their musical style led to a commission to write a score for a stage production of The Tempest in 1974, parts of which formed the band's next album, Midnight Mushrumps, released in April 1974. By this time bass guitarist Philip Nestor had joined the fold, and the band began to explore more progressive influences. The progressive rock influences became even more apparent on Gryphon's acclaimed third album, Red Queen to Gryphon Three, released in December 1974. The album was one of the most successful of Gryphon's career and the diversity of their music saw Gryphon earn the distinction of being the first artists to appear on all four BBC radio networks in one week. Raindance was Gryphon's final album for Transatlantic Records. Issued in 1975, the record saw Philip Nestor replaced by Malcolm Bennett and was another successful record. This anthology features an illustrated booklet with an essay by Malcolm Dome and includes exclusive interviews with Richard Harvey, Brian Gulland, Graeme Taylor and Dave Oberle.
189 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Similar artists: MORRIGAN, FAMILY
Type: CD
Recorded: 2018
Release Date: 2018-06-11
Label: Esoteric
Country: Euro
Item No: ECLEC22639
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Kemp's Jig 03:11
02 Sir Gavin Grimbold 02:48
03 Touch And Go 01:34
04 Three Jolly Butchers 03:57
05 Pastime With Good Company 01:34
06 The Unquiet Grave 05:44
07 Estampie 04:54
08 Crossing The Stiles 02:27
09 The Astrologer 03:14
10 Tea Wrecks 01:08
11 Juniper Suite 04:48
12 The Devil And The Farmer's Wife 01:59
Browse by artist: GRYPHON - 6 items Show as list
149 SEK
CD Used
95 SEK
Red Queen To Gryphon Three
Others also bought
129 SEK
You = Remaster =