Click to enlarge
Sersophane = LP = (LP)
Relentless and propulsive, Sersophane is a symbol for what is yet to come - the as of now unknown and unnamed materialised in a goddess of hope and wisdom, holding her ground in a crumbling world. The album that bears her name is the fourth record from the Swedish instrumental quartet Gösta Berlings Saga. Dark and dystopian, the album is characterized by an eclectic mix of references, combining tight minimalistic grooves and driving/aggressive rhythms with unruly noise and a vibrant edge. Within this musical universe, Sersophane represents the will not to resign to passive pessimism, casting her beacon of light in the shape of shimmering melodies and epic adventures into unknown terrain. Sersophane is a stripped down affair compared to the band's previous album, more akin to 2009's Detta Har Hänt in terms of the recording process. All the basic tracks were recorded live in Studio Rymden over a period of two days, as a way of safeguarding a sense of spontaneity for the material and maintaining the raw feel of a live show. This aspiration was present during post processing too, as obvious solutions in terms of instrumentation and arrangements were avoided in order to find new ways forward. The result is the band's most coherent album thus far, thematically consistent with little added to the core, Alexander Skepp (drums, percussion & synthesizers), Einar Baldursson (electric, acoustic & lap steel guitars & synthesizers), David Lundberg (Fender Rhodes, synthesizers and Mellotron), Gabriel Tapper (bass & Moog Taurus).
229 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Similar artists: MY BROTHER THE WIND
Type: LP
Recorded: 2016
Release Date: 2016-12-10
Label: Icosahedron Music
Country: Euro
Item No: ICO2LP
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Konstruktion (02:59)
02 Sersophane (08:04)
03 Fort Europa (08:06)
04 Dekonstruktion (03:33)
05 Channeling The Sixth Extinction (15:15)
06 Naturum (01:04)
Browse by artist: GOSTA BERLINGS SAGA - 6 items Show as list