Click to enlarge
Christmas On Mars = 2 CD / DVD = (CD)
The soundtrack to the Flaming Lips homemade cult film, CHRISTMAS ON MARS, is as alluring, odd, and understated as the film itself. Those looking for a new batch of Flaming Lips pop songs won't find them; the score is entirely instrumental. But where the movie thrives on strange images and B-movie kitsch value, the music is sophisticated and sparkling, even given the occasionally odd song title ("Gleaming Armament of the Marching Genitalia"). Naturally, the Lips draw on their own brand of bright, pulsing psychedelia with dashes of noise-rock, but one can also hear the influence of film score composers like Ennio Morricone and Bernard Hermann, not to mention the lilting ambience of Brain Eno. A refreshing return to the Lips' earlier experimentalism, without sacrificing any of their seasoned maturity, CHRISTMAS ON MARS is an aural treat.
199 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2008
Release Date: 2008-11-11
Label: Warner Bros
Country: US
Item No: WB512895.2
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Once beyond hopelessness - 3:07
02 The distance between mars and the earth pt. 1 - 0:52
03 The horrors of isolation: the celestial dissolve/triumphant hallucination/l - 4:39
04 In excelsior vaginalistic - 3:02
05 Your spaceship comes from within - 1:28
06 Suicide and extraordinary mistakes - 3:28
07 The distance between mars and the earth pt. 2 - 0:57
08 The secret of immortality: this strange feeling/this impossible world - 3:43
09 The gleaming armament of marching genitalia - 3:58
10 The distress signals of celestial objects - 2:11
11 Space bible with volume lumps - 3:15
12 Once beyond hopelessness - 2:03
Browse by artist: FLAMING LIPS - 11 items Show as list
69 SEK
239 SEK
Hear It Is
159 SEK