Click to enlarge
Ocean Songs (CD)
Dirty Three: Mick Turner (guitar, melodica, loops); Warren Ellis (violin, viola, piano); Jim White (drums, percission). Additional personnel: David Grubbs (piano, harmonium). Recorded at Electrical Audio, Chicago, Illinois in August and September 1997. It's a shame that one of rock music's best instrumental outfits is also its best-kept secret: the Dirty Three. Who would have thought that a trio comprised of electric guitar, violin and drums (Look ma, no bass!) could make such satisfying and compelling music. In a time when classical recordings often resort to studio "tricks" in order to obtain a perfect performance, the need for instrumental technique is diminished, so if you're looking for dazzling displays of virtuosity, look elsewhere. If you're looking for sincere, mournful, rag-tag melodies, then you've found a home. And yes, the violin is out of tune, but you won't care because it only adds to the emotional impact. Humble music for arrogant times.
159 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 7-11 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 1997
Release Date: 1998-03-31
Label: Touch & Go
Country: US
Item No: Tou1932
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Sirena - 4:06
02 The restless waves - 5:09
03 Distant shore - 5:50
04 Authentic celestial music - 10:04
05 Backwards voyager - 4:34
06 Last horse on the sand - 4:52
07 Sea above sky below - 6:04
08 Black tide - 4:35
09 Deep waters - 16:27
10 Ends of the earth - 5:11
Browse by artist: DIRTY THREE - 10 items Show as list
159 SEK