Click to enlarge
Rest Inside The Flames (CD)
The third album by Oregon (by way of Anchorage, Alaska) post-hardcore outfit 36 Crazy Fists expands on the somewhat schematic metalcore-by-numbers sound of their earlier albums. Expanding the vocal palette by including a larger number of clean vocals in counterpoint to lead singer Brock Lindow's Cookie Monsterisms and considerably increasing the melodic content of the songs sound at first like they might be sops to a wider audience. However, listening to Rest Inside the Flames in the context of the band's two earlier albums, it seems more likely that this widescreen take on post-hardcore is less a sellout move than the work of a band attempting to move out of a stylistic rut. This, of course, is an admirable goal, and for the most part, 36 Crazy Fists do a solid job of it. Album highlights like the epic "The Great Descent" and "Felt Through a Phone Line" are among the band's strongest songs, but it's the unexpected acoustic coda, "The City Ignites," that's the most surprising. A reworking of "Midnight Swim" from earlier in the album, the song reveals a gentler vocal side to Lindow but retains the intensity of the rest of the album in a different musical format. ~ Stewart Mason
119 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2006
Release Date: 2006-06-14
Label: Roadrunner Records
Country: Euro
Item No: RR80792
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Iéll Go Until My Heart Stops
02 Felt Through A Phone Line
03 On Any Given Night
04 Elysium
05 The Great Descent
06 Midnight Swim
07 Aurora
08 Will Pull This In By Hand
09 We Cannot Deny
10 Between The Anchor And The Air
11 The City Ignites
Browse by artist: 36 CRAZYFISTS - 4 items Show as list