Click to enlarge
Modern Music = 5 CD / DVD, Book Edition = (CD)
Recorded in June and July 1976 at Abbey Road Studio Three, MODERN MUSIC was the fourth album by Be Bop Deluxe and the second to feature the line-up of BILL NELSON (vocals, guitars, keyboards), CHARLES TUMAHAI (bass, vocals), ANDY CLARK (keyboards) and SIMON FOX (drums). Following on from the success and critical praise for the band's previous album SUNBURST FINISH, the album was once more co-produced by BILL NELSON and JOHN LECKIE. Much of the material appearing on the album was conceived by Bill Nelson whilst Be Bop Deluxe were undertaking their first tour of the USA in March 1976. The wonderful and expansive MODERN MUSIC "suite" which dominated the album was inspired by Bill's experiences of America, the disillusionment with the US music business and a longing for home. Beside the fine achievement of the suite, MODERN MUSIC also featured other fine songs such as Orphans of Babylon, Kiss of Light, The Bird Charmers Destiny and the epic Down on Terminal Street, all of which ensured that the album was a hit in both the UK and the USA. This expanded reissue has been newly re-mastered from the original master tapes and features an additional 55 bonus tracks drawn from a stunning new 5.1 surround sound & stereo mixes from the original multi-track tapes by award winning engineer Stephen W. Tayler, previously unreleased out-takes from the album sessions, a BBC Radio "In Concert" performance from October 1976, along with a bonus CD of a previously unreleased "official bootleg" of a performance at The Riviera Theater in Chicago in March 1976 recorded for FM Radio on Be Bop Deluxe's first US tour which features a rare jam entitled Bill's Blues. The set also includes visual material taken from a session for BBC TV's "Old Grey Whistle Test" show broadcast in November 1976.
799 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 6-10 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 1976
Release Date: 2019-12-06
Label: Esoteric Recordings
Country: Euro
Item No: PECLEC52698
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Orphans Of Babylon
02 Twilight Capers
03 Kiss Of Light
04 The Bird Charmers Destiny
05 The Gold At The End Of My Rainbow
06 Bring Back The Spark
07 Modern Music
08 Dancing In The Moonlight (all Alone)
09 Honeymoon On Mars
10 Lost In The Neon World
11 Dance Of The Uncle Sam Humanoids
12 Modern Music (reprise)
Browse by artist: BE BOP DELUXE - 10 items Show as list