Click to enlarge
Crying Won't Help You Now ; Deram Years 1971-1974 = 3 CD = (CD)
Chicken Shack had become known as one of the best British blues bands in the late 1960s and had recorded a number of albums for the Blue Horizon label. By 1971, the band's lineup had changed and guitarist/vocalist Stan Webb took the band in a harder rock direction. in 1971, Webb signed a production deal with Decca's Deram label and, with his band now a trio with John Glascock (bass) and Paul Hancox (drums), recorded the excellent Imagination Lady album, which included such classics as "Crying Won't Help You Now," "Daughter Of The Hillside" and the epic "Telling Your Fortune. John Glascock left the band in 1972 and was replaced by Bob Daisley on bass. With this lineup, they recorded another outstanding album, "Unlucky Boy," which was released in early 1973 and featured a guest appearance by Chris Mercer on saxophone. This lineup would also prove short-lived, as Stan Webb formed an entirely new lineup of the band in 1973 to go on tour. The band's final album for Deram was the live set "Goodbye..." recorded at Brunel University on October 26, 1973. Webb was backed by Dave Wilkinson (electric piano), Rob Hull (bass) and Alan Powell (drums). Shortly after this recording, Webb disbanded Chicken Shack to join Savoy Brown. The album was belatedly released in Europe in 1974 and was an excellent testament to Chicken Shack's quality as a live band. Gathering all the albums and singles released between 1971 and 1974, this box is a wonderful tribute to a great band.
369 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Similar artists: STAN WEBB
Type: CD
Recorded: 2022
Release Date: 2022-07-10
Label: Esoteric
Country: Euro
Item No: ECLEC32805
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Crying Won't Help You Now 5:09
02 Daughter Of The Hillside 3:52
03 If I Were A Carpenter 6:33
04 Going Down 3:31
05 Poor Boy 5:09
06 Telling Your Fortune 11:10
07 The Loser 2:37
08 Poor Boy (single Version) 4:11
09 Telling Your Fortune (single Version) 2:08
Disc 2
01 You Know Could Be Right 3:48
02 Revelation 5:13
03 Prudence's Party 3:13
159 SEK
Browse by artist: CHICKEN SHACK - 11 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   40 Blue Fingers Freshly Packed & Rea...
379 SEK
2   40 Fingers, Freshly Packed...
139 SEK
3   Accept
159 SEK
4   Crying Won't Help You Now ; Deram Ye...
369 SEK
5   From The Vaults 1968-1974
129 SEK
6   Imagination Lady
169 SEK
7   Imagination Lady = LP =
239 SEK
8   O.K. Ken = Japanese =
189 SEK
9   O.K. Ken? = Remastered =
159 SEK
10   Roadies Concerto
159 SEK
11   Stan The Man Live
139 SEK
 CD Album   LP  
Others also bought