Click to enlarge
Le Voyage Dans La Lune = CD + DVD = (CD)
Le Voyage Dans La Lune (A Trip To The Moon) is a classic black and white silent film by revered French director Georges Méliès. Released in 1902, this legendary 14-minute film is widely considered one of the most important works in film history, and the very first to use science fiction as its theme, incorporating special effects that were very state-of-the-art at the turn of the 19th century. It was loosely based on two popular novels of the time: Jules Verne's From the Earth to the Moon and H. G. Wells' The First Men In The Moon. A hand-coloured print, the only one known to survive, was rediscovered in 1993 by the Filmoteca de Catalunya. It was in a state of almost total decomposition, and many years of painstaking, manual restoration took place until 2010, when digital technology finally came to the rescue. Following another year at the Technicolor Lab of Los Angeles, it was finally ready to share with the world. Eager to put a contemporary spin on this classic silent film, the producers decided to approach Air's Nicolas Godin and Jean-Benoit Dunckel, to compose an original modern soundtrack - an enormous honour for French musicians, considering the film's place in the canon of French cinema. With the aim of premiering at the 2011 Cannes Film Festival, Air set themselves a tight deadline, locking their studio doors and working around the clock to serve these classic images with brave new sounds. Complete with a new soundtrack by Air, the film debuted at Cannes on May 11, 2011, to immediate and unanimous acclaim. Spurred on by their work on this short movie, Air decided to develop the project into a full album inspired by the film. Expanding the original musical themes beyond cinematic instrumentals, the album also features the vocal talents of Au Revoir Simone and Victoria Legrand (Beach House). The band's lunar fascinations have been evident since the beginning of their career with the release of the seminal 1998 classic Moon Safari. Now Nicolas and JB have returned to explore the further regions of their very unique musical `space'.
169 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 10-14 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2012
Release Date: 2012-05-22
Label: Emi
Country: Euro
Item No: 5099995562421
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Astronomic Club
02 Seven Stars
03 Retour Sur Terre
04 Parade
05 Moon Fever
06 Sonic Armada
07 Who Am I Now?
08 Décollage
09 Cosmic Trip
10 Homme Lune
11 Lava
Disc 2
01 Le Voyage Dans La Lune
Browse by artist: AIR - 4 items Show as list
89 SEK
Pocket Symphony