Click to enlarge
Arctic Blues = 2 CD, Digipack = (CD)
The saxophonist and composer Eero Koivistoinen, who turned 70 this winter, is going through an exceptionally creative phase in his career. Koivistoinen celebrated his birthday together with the jazz orchestra UMO (Uuden Musiikin Orkesteri, New Music Orchestra), which he took part in founding in the mid-seventies. The orchestra played four concert hall dates with Koivistoinen at the helm both as conductor and solo saxophonist, and decided to join forces in the studio as well. Arctic Blues was recorded in Helsinki this winter and mixed and mastered in Power Sound Studio, Amsterdam. The album is a showcase of Koivistoinen's talents as composer, arranger, saxophonist as well as conductor, conducting one of the most remarkable European big bands of today. Arctic Blues is a behemoth of an album, spread over two CDs and three LPs, being the first Finnish jazz record of such magnitude. After founding UMO 40 years ago together with Esko Linnavalli and Heikki Sarmanto, Koivistoinen has often worked with the orchestra, and also acted as its director for a few years in the 1990s. Arctic Blues consists of mostly new material, recorded in the winter of 2016, but also features three tracks from a live session at UMO Concert House in 2005. The album has big band renditions of Koivistoinen's past work as well as material written for this record in mind.
169 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2016
Release Date: 2016-12-02
Label: Svart Records
Country: Euro
Item No: SVART049CD
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Moz
02 Relations
03 Arctic Blues
04 Ruby My Dear
05 Mean Meat Blues
06 Hallanvaara
07 Long Way From Home
08 Oshumare
09 Nordiskt Samarbete
Disc 2
01 Straight Up
02 Off Minor
03 Picture In 3 Colours
Browse by artist: EERO KOIVISTOINEN - 13 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   3rd Version = LP =
229 SEK
2   Arctic Blues = 2 CD, Digipack =
169 SEK
3   Arctic Blues = 3 LP =
389 SEK
4   For Children = LP =
219 SEK
5   Hati Hati = Digipack =
149 SEK
6   Illusion = Digipack =
189 SEK
7   Illusion = LP =
229 SEK
8   Labyrinth = 2 CD, Digipack =
189 SEK
9   Minor Solutions = DVD =
59 SEK
10   Muusa Ja Ruusa = Digipack =
129 SEK
11   Split w/ NORDJAZZ QUINTET : Jazz Lii...
169 SEK
12   The Front Is Breaking = LP =
219 SEK
13   Valtakunta = LP =
229 SEK
 CD Album   DVD Video   LP