Click to enlarge
3rd Version = LP = (LP)
The 21st century has been rife with reissues of European jazz, rock, and funk. Many European and Japanese labels have been prolific in their offerings, but American imprints have been slower on the uptake. That said, Porter Records, out of Winter Park, FL, issues new, vintage, and forgotten recordings by artists of all stripes from all over the globe; they've uncovered a number of forgotten jazz masterpieces in the process; in particular, three albums from Finnish pianist Heikki Sarmanto. Sarmanto appears on Fender Rhodes on 3rd Version, this stellar seventh offering by his countryman, saxophonist, composer, and arranger Eero Koivistoinen, and originally released in 1973. 3rd Version also features the talents of another Finnish superchopper in guitarist Jukka Tolonen (of Wigwam and Tasvallen Presidentti). Other members include upriught bassist Pekka Sarmanto (Heikki's brother) and drummers Reino Laine and American Craig Herndon. This set's four long tunes can rightfully be called "fusion," because of their reliance on knotty compositions, frequently shifting time signatures and rhythms, and some electric instruments. That said, Koivistoinen's platter is far from the generic brand of fusion. This is jazz of the highest order, with expert musicianship and a knowledge not only of tradition, but also of Latin musical forms, classical music, and rock & roll. Three of the tunes here were written by Koivistoinen, and the other by Sarmanto. The symbiosis in the rhythm section is remarkable, no matter how complex the changes and dynamic shifts get. Laine takes syncopation to an extreme while Herndon keeps a solidly swinging back beat and provides colorful percussion. Pekka Sarmanto is a criminally unsung and inventive bassist: check his solo in "Near But Far Away" and his propulsive pizzicato and arco force in "Muy Bonita Ciudad," where flamenco meets modal music and funky keys. Koivistoinen's soprano (especially) and tenor work is on par with that of Bennie Maupin's, and Heikki Sarmanto is one of the most lyrical pianists of his generation. Tolonen, despite being the youngest member of this ensemble, is already in full possession of his chops, though he plays them more
229 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 10-14 days.
Type: LP
Recorded: 1973
Release Date: 2016-06-12
Label: Svart Records
Country: Euro
Item No: SVR422
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 3rd Version 11:35
02 Near But Far Away 8:24
03 Muy Bonita Ciudad 15:57
04 Latin Power 8:16
Browse by artist: EERO KOIVISTOINEN - 13 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   3rd Version = LP =
229 SEK
2   Arctic Blues = 2 CD, Digipack =
169 SEK
3   Arctic Blues = 3 LP =
389 SEK
4   For Children = LP =
219 SEK
5   Hati Hati = Digipack =
149 SEK
6   Illusion = Digipack =
189 SEK
7   Illusion = LP =
229 SEK
8   Labyrinth = 2 CD, Digipack =
189 SEK
9   Minor Solutions = DVD =
59 SEK
10   Muusa Ja Ruusa = Digipack =
129 SEK
11   Split w/ NORDJAZZ QUINTET : Jazz Lii...
169 SEK
12   The Front Is Breaking = LP =
219 SEK
13   Valtakunta = LP =
229 SEK
 CD Album   DVD Video   LP