Click to enlarge
Welcome To The Battlefield = LP = (LP)
Sweden's In Battle have come a long way. Playing fast-paced black metal with members of Setherial for two albums, they had an entire lineup change in 1999, resulting in the modern incarnation of the band. With members of Aeon and Diabolical on board and production work (and occasional guitar solos) by Erik Rutan (Hate Eternal, Morbid Angel), they've completely transformed into a steady and ultra-aggressive death metal act. Welcome to the Battlefield has a similar feel to technical madmen Psycroptic, due to the mechanical drumming and abrupt shifts, as well as the vocals at times. With a deep and tough yell/growl, Odhinn Sandin sings with an excellent sense of rhythm and timing. In Battle utilize some mind-bogglingly complex leads, played with the spirit of intense black metal but with the sound of thrashy death metal. There's a lot of artificial harmonics thrown in and it's impressive as to how precisely they're used. The fucking drumming is bewildering - both in how hard the hits and blasts are in addition to some of the unorthodox fills. "Eld Jaettar" begins with some strikingly fast arpeggios, leading into a mix of thrashy pull-off riffs and outlandish harmonies. Originally being from a black metal background, they've kept a slight hint of the sound to them, particularly in some of the ascending guitar progressions on tracks like "Scorched World". It's all really unusual music under the superficial guise of the death metal you've heard again and again. Welcome To The Battlefield is an excellent album that I can recommend to nearly anyone in good conscience. With its eclectic mix of black, death, and thrash metal - coupled with their unique guitarwork, there's something for every extreme music fan. Definitely worth a closer look.
109 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: LP
Recorded: 2005
Release Date: 2005-10-28
Label: Animate Records
Country: Euro
Item No: 50239
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Shunned by life
02 Madness in the realm of war
03 Eldjättar
04 Scorched world
05 Soul metamorphosis
06 Despoter
07 Serpents
08 The blood divine
09 Stonefaced mountains
10 King god
11 Mass produced hybrid humans
Browse by artist: IN BATTLE - 1 items Show as list