Click to enlarge
Ghost Surveillance (CD)
Algernon are one of Chicago's fastest rising young bands. They have a great post-rock/avant-progressive/modern progressive, instrumental sound. They feature a unique line-up of dual guitars, vibes, bass and drums. The band is led by guitarist and composer Dave Miller. The other members of Algernon are second guitarist Toby Summerfield (who also was a member of Larval for many years), vibes player Katie Wiegman, bassist Tom Perona, and drummer Cory Healey. Miller formed Agernon as a way to combine a large number of influences of various types of music he liked in a unique way, without any one of them being the dominant sound. These influences include experimental rock (60s psychedelic rock, Jimi Hendrix, 13th Floor Elevators), kraut-rock (Harmonia, Can and Neu!), post-rock (Tortoise, Isotope 217, Chicago Underground, Godspeed!, Talk Talk) the late 70s art-punk and no-wave scene (Sonic Youth, Glenn Branca) and avant-garde jazz. A very important point about Algernon's music is despite Dave having a strong jazz background, Algernon is not a improvising band. The music that Dave writes for the group is basically wholly scored; there is a very small amount of improvisation and what improvisation there is, is more about atmosphere(s) than about solos. Ghost Surveillance is Algernon's third album and is their first to reach a wider audience. Their music brings a lot of influences together in surprising and entertaining ways. A quick listen to the download sample below will show you why we have such great enthusiasm for this band, as they manage to be quite accessible while pushing stylistic boundaries and exploring new paths.
129 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2010
Release Date: 2010-09-23
Label: Cuneiform
Country: US
Item No: RUNE297
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 The briefing
02 Broken lady
03 Honey trap
04 Timekiller
05 Operative vs. opposition
06 Everybody stay calm
07 Intelligence meltdown
08 Debrief and defect
09 Objective compromised
10 The l pill
Browse by artist: ALGERNON - 1 items Show as list