Click to enlarge
Outward Bown = 2 CD = (CD)
One of the most popular club bands of the Swinging London era, the Alan Bown Set abruptly changed direction in the Summer of 1967, shedding their soul/R&B togs to reinvent themselves as flower power pop merchants the Alan Bown! Under this new guise, they cut one of the lost jewels of the British psychedelic pop scene, the magnificent Outward Bown. The LP appeared in late 1968, but unfortunately was only briefly available due to the collapse of the band's recordcompany. To add insult to injury, a long-overdue late 1990s CD release of Outward Bown suffered a similar fate, meaning that this most quintessential of English psychedelic pop albums has never been available for more than a few weeks at a time. Finally, however, Outward Bown receives the release that it deserves with this definitive double CD package, which features both mono and stereo mixes of the album together with obscure B-sides and alternative single versions. Pieced together from recording sessions that spanned the summer of 1967 to spring 1968, Outward Bown deftly embraces all points of the psychedelic pop compass, taking in proto-hard rock (including the original electric blueprint of 'All Along The Watchtower' that inspired Hendrix to cut his own version), blue-eyed mod soul and, perhaps most notably of all, the voguish toytown pop sound, evident in such winsome vignettes as 'Toyland', 'Violin Shop' and 'Story Book'. With numerous photos, fresh interview quotes and a lavish 16-page booklet, this release also features the stand-alone 45 'We Can Help You', a Nirvana cover that, in 1968, became the closest that the group would ever get to a bona fide hit single.
199 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 10-14 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 1967
Release Date: 2012-02-20
Label: Grapefruit
Country: Euro
Item No: CRSEG022D
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Toyland
02 Magic Handkerchief
03 Mutiny
04 All Along The Watchtower
05 Sally Green
06 Penny For Your Thoughts
07 Story Book
08 Technicolour Dream
09 Love Is A Beautiful Thing
10 Violin Shop
11 You're Not In My Class
12 My Girl The Month Of May
Browse by artist: ALAN BOWN - 3 items Show as list
Others also bought