Click to enlarge
The Orb And Youth Present Impossible Oddities - From Underground To Ov (CD)
Fans of the Orb with a completist bent (and there must be some of you out there) will be thrilled by the appearance of this budget-priced three-disc retrospective of material from the vaults of legendary acid house label WAU! Mr. Modo. This is effectively another way of saying "the vaults of the Orb," the equally legendary production and writing duo of Alex Paterson and Killing Joke bassist Martin "Youth" Glover; Paterson and Youth not only produced the vast majority of these tracks, but appeared as musicians on many of them as well. Featured artists include Discotec 2000, Paradise X, Mystic Knights, Blowfly, Uncle 22, and Sound Iration, among others, and the program includes a few bona fide hits (a demo version of the Orb's "Little Fluffy Clouds," a previously unreleased version of Zoë's lovely "Sunshine on a Rainy Day"), but mostly offers obscurities that will be of interest primarily to established fans. That said, there is plenty here that could draw new listeners into the fold: househeads will enjoy Eternity's luxuriously long "Ashram House [Extended Mix]" and Paradise X's subtly samba-inflected "2 Much [Out of This World Mix]"; those whose tastes run more to breaks and reggae will get a bigger kick out of the two versions of Indica All Stars' "Open Our Eyes" and Sound Iration's "Seventh Seal," while those whose tastes range more broadly will enjoy the third disc, a continuous DJ mix that includes some material from the first two discs as well as additional tracks and runs the gamut from house to breaks to dubwise reggae. Paterson and Youth were some of the best producers of electronic dance music in any genre during the late '80s and early '90s, and this set is a fitting monument to their significant achievements.
99 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2010
Release Date: 2010-05-21
Label: Year Zero
Country: Euro
Item No: YZLTD006
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Orb - Little fluffy clouds
02 Eternity - Ashram house
03 Orb - Tripping on sunshine
04 Discotec 2000 - Feel this
05 STP Twentythree - Let jimi take over
06 Johnson dean - Somebody somewhere
07 U.n.c.l.e. 22 - Love
08 Paradise X - 2 much
09 Delkom - Superjack
10 Sun electric - O'locco
11 Indica all stars - open our eyes
12 Indica all stars - Open our eyes (new style version)
Browse by artist: VARIOUS ARTISTS - 899 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
476   The Yardbirds Family Tree - Birds of...
89 SEK
477   Things That Make No Sense
69 SEK
478   Think I'm Going Weird ; Artefacts Fr...
559 SEK
479   Think Tank Media Sampler Vol. 4
99 SEK
480   This Comp Kills Fascists
129 SEK
481   This Is Shredding 1
179 SEK
482   This Is Shredding II
179 SEK
483   This Is Stadium Anthems = 2 CD =
129 SEK
484   This Is The Blues 3
119 SEK
485   This Is The Blues 4
129 SEK
486   This Is The Blues, Vol. 1
129 SEK
487   This Is The Blues, Vol. 2
129 SEK
488   This Old World's In A Hell Of A Fix
129 SEK
489   Thrashing Like A Maniac
159 SEK
490   Thy Spirit Of The Mashball
49 SEK
491   To Fathom Hell Or Soar Angelic - A L...
149 SEK
492   Tomorrow Belongs To Us
69 SEK
493   Top Musicians Play
89 SEK
494   Total Exotica ; As Dug By Lux And Iv...
179 SEK
495   Trapped In A Scene
149 SEK
496   Treasure Island
139 SEK
497   Triad: Red Sparowes Made Out Of Babi...
99 SEK
498   Tribos Electricas # 2
99 SEK
499   Trip In Time = 2 CD =
199 SEK
500   Tripwave 2: Collection Of Modern Rus...
159 SEK
 Previous page
Pages:    15  16  17  18  19  [20 21  22  23  24   
Items per page: [25] 50 100 
Next page