Click to enlarge
Winds Of Time ~ The New Wave Of British Heavy Metal 1979-1985: = 3 CD (CD)
Although it's roots and influences would stretch much farther, the bands that are loosely bound together under the banner the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal (or NWOBHM), flourished across the UK between 1979 and 1985. Spearheaded by the likes of Diamond Head, Saxon and the Tygers Of Pan Tang, as this set illustrates, this underground scene was fertile and highly influential, producing many future rock legends. By the end of the 1970s, the original triumvirate of hard rock heroes Zeppelin, Purple and Sabbath had either graduated to the arenas of the world, or even split up, whilst the second wave of British heavy rockers, including UFO, Motörhead and Judas Priest, were beginning to fill theatres across the land. Punk exploded in 1976 and 1977, and the DIY ethos that sprang up in it's wake soon influenced the grassroots metal bands who had yet to leave their local bars and clubs. Often independently released, some of the bands in this set never made more than one now highly prized and collectable 45 or one-off EP. Championed in Sounds music paper as leading lights of the NWOBHM scene, this 3CD set kicks off with Diamond Head, one of the first bands to actually release a full album, albeit in a plain white sleeve. Their influence would be far reaching, and Metallica would cover no less than four tracks from this LP, including 'The Prince', featured here, as part of their "Garage Inc. " covers album. Metallica would also cover NWOBHM band Blitzkrieg, represented on this collection by 'A Time Of Changes'. A major champion of the groundswell of new HM bands was the north east of England's Neat Records, an independent label that brought us music from hugely influential acts such as Venom, Fist, Raven, Warfare, Jaguar, Aragorn, Avenger, Bitches Sin and Tysondog, among many others. It wasn't all about the boys, mind, as the all-girl Girlschool are represented by their debut single 'Take It All Away', and fellow London all-girl trio Rock Goddess feature with a track from their self-titled major label debut for A&M, 'The Love Lingers Still'. Before Bruce Dickinson joined Maiden in 1981 he fronted London heavy rockers Samson, featuring Paul Samson on lead guitar, and repre
299 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2018
Release Date: 2018-07-21
Label: Hne Recordings
Country: Euro
Item No: HNEBOX105
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 The Prince - Diamond Head
02 Brain Damage - Fist
03 Loser - Angelwitch
04 Vice Versa - Samson
05 Tyrant of the Airways - Raven
06 Winds of Time - Elixir
07 Pull the Trigger - Satan
08 Escape - Demon Pact
09 Kaptain America - Dark Star
10 Too Different - Persian Risk
11 We Got the Edge - Savage
12 Strange Place to Be - Heritage
Browse by artist: VARIOUS ARTISTS - 874 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
851   Wacken Open Air 2010 - Limited Gold ...
499 SEK
852   War Dance 1
79 SEK
853   Warfare Noise = Digipack =
159 SEK
854   Warriors Of Dark Sun = LP =
169 SEK
855   Warzone 1
40 SEK
856   Warzone 2
40 SEK
857   Wattstax: The Living Word = 2 LP =
150 SEK
858   Wayfaring Strangers: Cosmic American...
229 SEK
859   We're All Part Of A Family
40 SEK
860   Wedrujmy Wakacyjny Przewodnik.....
139 SEK
861   Westwood One ; Off The Record Septem...
595 SEK
862   What Now, People ? # 1 = LP =
150 SEK
863   Where You Gonna Go? Motor City Garag...
169 SEK
864   Who Needs Tomorrow?
139 SEK
865   Whole New Generation Of D.J. = LP =
95 SEK
866   Wild Rock
55 SEK
867   Winds Of Time ~ The New Wave Of Brit...
299 SEK
868   Wizards And Demons
139 SEK
869   Word Of Mouth 32
49 SEK
870   World Of Acid
159 SEK
871   You Deserve Even Worse
65 SEK
872   You Heard Them Here First
199 SEK
873   Your Generation 18 Punk & New Wave C...
40 SEK
874   Zachariah = LP =
115 SEK
 Previous page
Pages:    7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  [18
Items per page: 25 [50] 100 
 CD Album   LP