Click to enlarge
Groove Club Vol. 2 Cambodian Rock Spectacular = Digipack = (CD)
"Recorded in raw, bare bones conditions, mostly live and with traditional Cambodian instruments finding their place alongside found keyboards or guitars, the music of the Khmer rock musicians transformed the nightlife of the Cambodian capital, Phnom Penh, and many years later seduced countless listeners around the world with their groovy sound. The rise to power of the anti-Western, fanatical Khmer Rouge in 1975 caused drastic and permanent changes for Cambodia. These years saw social upheaval in the form of massive famines, selective executions and a brutal campaign of genocide responsible for the deaths of an estimated two million Cambodians, many in the notorious "Killing Fields". Even the most famous and beloved Khmer musicians could not escape. Sinn Sisamouth ("the Emperor of Khmer Music"), Ros Sereysothea ("The Golden Voice of the Royal Capital"), and Pan Ron met their deaths at the hands of the Khmer Rouge. The music of these honoured musicians and others live on in this exclusive collection, assembled with much love and respect for the artists who made the Khmer rock scene so thrilling. The music here is wild and anarchic, rhythmic and undulating, sometimes sweet and lyrical, but always moving. 'Cambodia Rock Spectacular!' captures that deep soulfulness ingrained in the best music; and along with its soon-to-be-revealed sister album, 'Cambodia Rock Intensified!', it is perhaps the most definitive collection of classic Cambodian rock music to appear on the scene to date."
169 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2011
Release Date: 2011-01-15
Label: Lion Records
Country: Euro
Item No: LION655
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Do you no wrong again - thra kha band
02 Khnyom jah karake - tet somnang & meas samon
03 Pros chang reiy - pan ron
04 Tonight dance - ros sereysothea
05 Gon som merl kon mdong (please just one more movie daddy) - ros sereysothea & houy meas
06 Jet snaeh theang nov - sinn sisamouth & ros sereysothea
07 Pail loung rom (go to dance) - pan ron
08 Oun chong rom leng ning bong (i wanna dance with you) - ros sereysothea
09 Pralkol sene eoui oun venh - houy meas
10 Srolanh oun jea nich (i love mean girls) - pan ron & in yeng
11 Yuvachon yuvatey samai tmai (new generation youth) - sinn sisamouth & ros sereysothea
12 Tgnai nih reabka khnyom (today my friends) - pan ron
Browse by artist: VARIOUS ARTISTS - 1140 items Show as list
150 SEK
10 Classic Rock Stamps
139 SEK
LP Used
150 SEK
A Full House = LP =
CD Used
35 SEK
Pages:  [1 2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10   
Items per page: 25 [50] 100 
Next page