Click to enlarge
New Moon's In The Sjy : British Progressive Pop Sounds 1970 = 3 CD = (CD)
UK three CD set. Having documented the British psychedelic scene with anthologies devoted to the years 1967, 1968 and 1969, Grapefruit's ongoing series fearlessly confronts the dawn of the Seventies with a slight rebrand. New Moon's In The Sky: The British Progressive Pop Sounds Of 1970 features (appropriately enough) seventy tracks from the first year of the new decade as the British pop scene adjusted to life without The Beatles. This set concentrates on the more song-based recordings to emanate from British studios during 1970, whether from a pure-pop-for-then-people perspective or the more concise, melodic end of the burgeoning progressive rock spectrum. We acknowledge the end of the road for some bands who'd achieved a modicum of late Sixties success (Honeybus, Love Sculpture, Plastic Penny) while also charting the arrival of various acts like Curved Air, Atomic Rooster (about to score two major hit singles in the space of six months), Stray, future heavy metal major leaguers UFO, Affinity and Cressida, all of whom were able to combine underground rock credibility with an appreciation of the three-minute pop song. We also feature a number of successful late Sixties acts attempting to stay relevant in the new decade and adapt to a changing musical landscape (The Hollies, The Move, Status Quo, Procol Harum, The Tremeloes etc). But as always, we also shed light on the lost and buried: the studio-only creations, the Beatles disciples, the psychedelic folk adventurers, the one-shot-and-you're-out releases, the pseudonymous pranksters and the backroom duckers and divers that littered the industry at the turn of the decade. Housed in a clamshell box containing a 52-page booklet that's crammed to bursting point with group bios and obscure photos/memorabilia, New Moon's In The Sky is a fascinating document of a febrile period. It's also yet another essential Grapefruit package.
299 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 8-12 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2019
Release Date: 2019-03-12
Label: Grapefruit
Country: Euro
Item No: CRSEGBOX059
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Procol Harum piggy Pig Pig
02 Barclay James Harvest good Love Child
03 Five Day Rain good Year
04 Hawkwind hurry On Sundown
05 Stray around The World In Eighty Days
06 The Humblebums all The Best People Do It
07 Magna Carta give Me No Goodbye
08 Cressida winter Is Coming Again
09 Tim Andrews tiny Goddess
10 Angel Pavement jennifer
11 Harmony Grass i've Seen To Dream
12 Penny Arcade the Two Of Us
Browse by artist: VARIOUS ARTISTS - 1140 items Show as list
Pages:  [1 2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10   
Items per page: 25 [50] 100 
Next page