Click to enlarge
Under The Spell - 30th Anniversary Box Set = 3 CD / DVD = (CD)
In the early eighties a true tsunami of young, promising bands arises as a reaction to the successful New Wave Of British Heavy Metal movement, who all want to achieve their "claim to fame" within the heavy metal genre. This movement will later be known as the New Wave Of American Heavy Metal and the thing that characterizes this new wave most is that the material on average tends to be quite a lot faster and heavier than what is coming out of the UK. First examples of this are of course the debut albums of Metallica ('Kill 'Em All' from 1983), Slayer ('Show No Mercy' from 1983) and Helstar ('Burning Star' from 1984), which all have an enormous impact in the scene. In the wake of these great acts there are a number of bands which we can consider as the second wave and one of the most prominent and talented acts herein is the from San Francisco hailing Paradox, who will change their name to Hexx in 1984. This foursome will bring their debut album 'No Escape' to market in 1984 and this record already clearly shows the potential of these young blokes. The song material on this album, which to a large extent leans on the lovely riffs of guitar player Dan Watson and the great vocals of Dennis Manzo, has an extremely high quality level and especially tunes like 'Terror', 'Invader' and 'Beware The Darkness' to name just a few are impressive. Therefore by yours truly 'No Escape' is regarded as one of the best heavy metal albums from 1984 and as a result of that a bright future is predicted for Hexx. That last statement is surely confirmed by the successor from 1986 'Under The Spell', on which singer Dennis Manzo is replaced by Dan Bryant and on which they have become a five-man's act by the addition of second guitar player Clint Bower. The ten tracks that are to the found on this 'Under The Spell' album are even a tad stronger than the 'No Escape' material and again Hexx proves to be one of the best bands within the American scene. Still the band can't really establish a breakthrough and singer Dan Bryant decides to leave Hexx after which Clint Bower is also going to take care of the vocal duties. After having released the EP 'Quest For Sanity' in 1988, followed by the
199 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 8-12 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 1986
Release Date: 2015-05-12
Label: Metal Blade
Country: Euro
Item No: 15412-2
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Hell Riders
02 A Time Of War
03 Edge Of Death
04 The Victim
05 Under The Spell
06 Out For Control
07 Suicide
08 The Hexx
09 Fever Dream
10 Midnight Sun
11 Edge Of Death
12 Burn Or Boil
Browse by artist: HEXX - 1 items Show as list
Others also bought
159 SEK
W.D. Fisher