Click to enlarge
And We Wept the Black Ocean Within (CD)
Features members of NEUROSIS, UNSANE, SWANS and TOMBS. Featuring current and former members of Neurosis, Tombs, Unsane and Swans, A Storm of Light is exactly what you might guess based on the title and cover: a massive tsunami of sound and thunder, intent on submerging you beneath its crushing waters. It's progressive hardcore/doom with a tortured, nautical theme: slow, crashing slabs of guitar, bellowed vocals and dissonant waves of feedback drifting beneath the cacophony. In other words, Neurosis meets Ahab. The album is both cinematic and colossal, as Storm of Light pounds the listener with wave after wave of oceanic dirges. What's most notable is how they work a succession of tranquil respites into tracks like "Leaden Tide," as if it's safer and quieter below the crashing waves than it is on the churning surface. It's like the opening scenes of Saving Private Ryan, where the camera keeps dipping below the waves to reveal a refuge that seems temptingly safe ...
169 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 7-11 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2008
Release Date: 2008-10-06
Label: Neurot Prod.
Country: US
Item No: TRBN59.2
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Adrift (the albatross i) - 1:47
02 Vast and endless - 7:26
03 Black ocean - 9:10
04 Thunderhead - 7:53
05 Undertow (the albatross ii) - 3:15
06 Mass - 8:04
07 Leaden tide - 7:49
08 Breach (the albatross iii) - 2:06
09 Descent - 5:00
10 Iron heart - 10:20
Browse by artist: A STORM OF LIGHT - 3 items Show as list