Click to enlarge
Loss Of Affect = LP = (LP)
Eric Arn and his Primordial Undermind have tirelessly mined the nether regions of avant psych-rock for the past 15 years, resulting in a sonically fertile body of work. Arn cut his teeth in the legendary Crystallized Movements (with Wayne Rogers & Kate Village) throughout the 1980's, the Twisted Village flagship band which, in its wake, also spawned Magic Hour and Major Stars. On their 7" singles and a number of compilation appearances throughout the 1990's, plus albums for September Gurls, Camera Obscura and Emperor Jones, the Primordial Undermind displayed a steady progression from distorted, psychedelic Nuggets-esque overload to full blown free instrumental rock. Just before relocating from Austin, Texas to Vienna, Austria in late 2004, Arn engaged in a series of studio sessions with his Austin crew. The results have been refined into a mesmerizing album entitled Loss of Affect, a deep meditation in sound transcending the boundaries of rock music. Even with a history of taking left turns, it is evident from the get-go that Loss of Affect is a departure for Primordial Undermind. Oozing into consciousness with "Intercessor", the band develops a full collective cosmic ethno-drone mantra, utilizing space and interplay to create ritualistic swirls of sound. Flowing into "Breathe Deep", a solo avant acoustic guitar excursion exploring odd tunings and tonal colors, shifting and heaving as it winds ever forward. From here, the band unleashes the volume and Loss of Affect continues further out, as full-blown, free acid-rock magma surges in molten explosions, intertwined with an expanded palette of instrumentation that includes bass clarinet and various other woodwinds, shakers, electronics and hammer dulcimer.
179 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: LP
Recorded: 2006
Release Date: 2006-10-31
Label: September Gurls Records
Country: Euro
Item No: SGLP39
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Intercessor
02 Breathe Deep
03 3rd Class Sissy
04 Color Of Nothing
05 Driftglass
06 In Violation
07 *
08 Tremens
09 *
10 Pertussis
11 *
12 Blinding Stars
Browse by artist: PRIMORDIAL UNDERMIND - 1 items Show as list