Click to enlarge
Sound Source (CD)
LOST WORLD is the name of a Russian Progressive rock band, founded in the year 1990 by Andrii DIDORENKO (Guitar, bass & violin), Vassily SOLOVIEV (Flute & drums) and Alex AKIMOV (Keyboards & programming), who were music college students at that time. After a period of intensive gigging and recording between 1991 and 1994, the singer Alexei RYBAKOV joined the group. Seven albums were recorded in a five year-period, self-released in very limited quantities. Let's also mention the participation in the Music For Brains concert series in winter-spring 1999. The first official studio album of LOST WORLD eventually saw the light of day on the Boheme Music label in 2003. Shortly before the release of "Trajectories", Alexei RYBAKOV decided it was time for a move. The band could be heard performing on the 2005 and 2006 editions of the InProg festival in Moscow. Their second album "Awakening Of The Elements" eventually sees the light of day at the end of this year 2006. And this is great news for the Musea label, that welcomes the Slavic band in its catalogue ! These twelve instrumental pieces reveal a very high musical level, worthy of the flattering reputation gained by the Russian classical musicians. And it's not by chance if the classical influences are so much present, sharing the front of the stage with the British School of Progressive rock, reminding the way of other fellow countrymen such as LITTLE TRAGEDIES or HORIZONT. Here's a very dynamic and lively music, with incredible violin parts, frantic but not heavy rhythms, and suggestive melodies. The ingredients that make this real masterpiece might recall KANSAS ("Magnum Opus") or UK here and there, without forgetting the Japanese musicians of KBB, but this is mostly for the pleasure of finding comparisons. This music is above all full of personality and enthusiasm. Here's a natural candidate to the Best Album of the Year award ! The third album "Sound Source" (2009) continues to showcase dynamic chamber music, mixing classical and rock influences, with a strong musical identity above all. These sixteen concise instrumental tracks reveal impressive technical skills, linked with a huge musical culture. But the band
149 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 2009
Release Date: 2009-12-10
Label: Musea
Country: Euro
Item No: FGBG4840AR
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Hymn - the intro (1'04)
02 Sound source (3'58)
03 Kaleidoscope (3'03)
04 Waterworks (4'36)
05 Hymn (6'17)
06 The feast (3'45)
07 Colorless (4'33)
08 The engine that wouldn't start (1'32)
09 Heat stroke (4'45)
10 Naked starlight (3'55)
11 In the wilderness (3'09)
12 Divertissement (4'37)
Browse by artist: LOST WORLD - 2 items Show as list
149 SEK
In Concert
149 SEK
Sound Source
Others also bought
99 SEK
29 SEK