Click to enlarge
Mystery Remains (CD)
APOGEE shows the solo works of Arne SCHAEFER, the talented leader and singer of German band VERSUS X. Apart from this collective experience, he's also written numerous tracks, a selection of which is included on "The Border Of Awareness" (1994). He shows there his obvious talents as multi-instrumentalist and as exceptional guitarist. Created by a brilliant composer, this CD reveals an incredible musical culture, that also includes German folk, jazz, Progressive rock, contemporary music and hard-rock. The five long tracks included on "Sisyphos" (1998) show a complex, sophisticated, contrasted and sometimes tortured art with expressive vocal lines, in a spirit close to Peter HAMMILL's. He particularly likes long themes with various changes, with magnified and refined sub-themes thanks to the large instrumental choice (Energetic electric guitar, delicate acoustic guitar, technique keyboards parts...). The five tracks of "The Garden Of Delights" (2003) develop an ambitious and complex symphonic rock that also shows a truly personal meditation about the human race, the conscience and the perception. Those 70 minutes of music blossom with musical structures and sophisticated themes. The atmospheres are thus varied, from the airy acoustic to the furious electric style, all of this wrapped into spacious keyboards lines, and with a few subtle dissonances. "Mystery Remains" is the fourth album by the band, published in the year 2009. For the occasion, Arne SCHAFER is helped by Uwe VOLLMAR and Thomas REINER, former and current drummer of VERSUS X. These experienced and talented musicians play an ambitious symphonic Progressive rock music. If the influences of KING CRIMSON, VAN DER GRAAF GENERATOR and Peter HAMMILL are still there, the music has become more personal, in a more meditative and contemplative way sometimes, and with a more melodic approach. Five long pieces (9 to 20 minutes) confirm one more time a specila taste for complex musical structures. Here's an excellent symphonic album, sophisticated and intelligent. Not to be missed !
159 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Similar artists: VERSUS X
Type: CD
Recorded: 2009
Release Date: 2009-05-20
Label: Musea
Country: Euro
Item No: FGBG4821AR
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Mystery remains (12'57)
02 Get your reward (8'59)
03 The claws of insanity (14'13)
04 Point of ignition (12'33)
05 Tracing experience (20'07)