Click to enlarge
Montgomery Chapel / St. Pius X Seminary Choir = 2 CD = (CD)
Digitally remastered two CD set. Recorded at the San Francisco Theological Seminary's own Montgomery Chapel, acid-folk gem Search Party Montgomery Chapel was the brainchild of (then Reverend) Nicholas Freund. Having left Wisconsin in the late 1960s to join a burgeoning West Coast religious scene, Freund spent considerable time in Sacramento before making his way to San Francisco in 1968 to lay down this one-off with some students of his. The result is a spooky, metaphysical trip that's equal parts God and acid-dripped mind expansion. Laced with haunting vocals and dreamlike passages, Montgomery Chapel is psychedelic music at its most evocative, and most spiritual. The recordings released by the St. Pius X Seminary Choir were made in the year or two which led up to the recording of the Search Party album. Not only did the three St. Pius X Seminary Choir records showcase the first work by Nick Freund, but they also were the first recordings of Search Party guitarist and vocalist Peter Apps. Our two-disc set includes both albums, plus bonus tracks taken from ultra-rare early albums by the St. Pius X Seminary Choir. The 32-page booklet is packed with information, thanks to Freund, who was gracious enough to delve into his memory, scrapbook, and photo albums to help us flesh out the portrait of one of the most potent, and perhaps one of the most unlikely, psychedelic groups to ever record an album.
159 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Recorded: 1969
Release Date: 2013-01-24
Label: Lion Records
Country: Korea
Item No: LION665
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
Disc 1
01 Speak To Me (2:50)
02 Renee Child (2:45)
03 Melanya (1:30)
04 When He Calls (4:22)
05 So Many Things Have Got Me Down (9:00)
06 You And I (3:08)
07 All But This (4:00)
08 Poem By George Hall (3:40)
09 The Decidedly Short Epic Of Mr. Alvira (3:15)
10 The News Is You (4:40)
11 Prayer For Mercy (1:07)
12 Kyrie And Gloria (4:03)