Click to enlarge
Heartbreak Hill = Remastered & Expanded, Digipack = (CD)
Digitally remastered and expanded edition of the classic "lost" Strawbs album Heartbreak Hill. Recorded in 1978 at Ringo Starr's Startling Studios, the album was recorded at a time of change for the band. Seeking to rethink their approach (following the release of the album Deadlines), the sessions would feature a line-up of Dave Cousins (vocals, guitar), Chas Cronk (bass, vocals), Andy Richards (keyboards), Tony Fernandez (drums) and Jo Partridge (guitars, mandolin, vocals). Recording sessions began with Dave Lambert in the ranks, but his departure after the recording of the song "Something for Nothing" led to the recruitment of Jo Partridge. The album would also see the guest appearance of Miller Anderson on guitar and vocals on the song 'We Can Make it Together'. Despite the fraught nature of the beginning of the recordings, the finished work was a fine progressive rock album. Alas, upon completion, Strawbs found themselves without management or a record deal and Heartbreak Hill would remain unreleased in any form until 1995 when a CD was prepared from a 7 ½ ips copy tape. The discovery of the original master tapes in 2006 saw a new re-release of the album. Now, Heartbreak Hill has been newly remastered and features four bonus tracks, including two David Cousins home demos from 1978 and live recordings of 'Heartbreak Hill' and 'Starting Over' from The Strawbs 40th anniversary celebration in September 2009 performed by the line-up who recorded the original album. The release includes a new essay by Dave Cousins, making this the definitive edition of Heartbreak Hill.
159 SEK 
  Tell a friend
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Limited availability - ships immediately
Type: CD
Release Date: 2010-05-11
Label: Esoteric
Country: Euro
Item No: ECLEC2719
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Something For Nothing 07:23
02 Another Day Without You 02:57
03 We Can Make It Together 04:18
04 Heartbreak Hill 07:31
05 Starting Over 10:48
06 Two Separate People 02:55
07 Desert Song 04:19
08 Let It Rain 04:04
09 Bring Out Your Dead (david Cousins Home Demo)
10 Another Day Without You (david Cousins Home Demo)
11 Heartbreak Hill (live Twickenham 2009)
12 Starting Over (live Twickenham 2009)