Click to enlarge
Frost (CD)
An important release for the extreme music subgenre of Viking metal, Frost represented a sizeable creative leap for Norway's Enslaved. After only a few years of existence, several record labels, and a few member changes, Enslaved had settled into a bit of a groove on this 1994 release. Bassist/vocalist Grutle Kjellson leads the way with plenty of throat splitting call-outs to various Norse gods and apocalyptic battle descriptions, while Ivar Bjørnson (guitar, keyboards) and Trym Torson (drums) plow through plenty of destructive riffs of their own. The music oscillates between spooky, plodding keyboard intros to black metal so fast and furious, barely a beat or melody is descernable. Highlights include the relatively decipherable "Fenris" and the slow, dissonant "Yggdrasil," but in general, all the tracks on Frost bear enough of a resemblance to make this 1994 release a fine black metal listen. Fans of the Viking metal subgenre certainly need to add this to their collection, but metal fans, even lovers of the sonically similar (but much more American) death metal genre, might not respond to Frost.
139 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 6-10 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2009
Release Date: 2009-01-13
Label: Season of Mist
Country: Euro
Item No: SOM702
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Frost (introduksjon) - 2:52
02 Loke - 4:21
03 Fenris - 7:16
04 Svarte vidder - 8:43
05 Yggdrasil - 5:23
06 Jotunblod - 4:07
07 Gylfaginning - 5:31
08 Wotan - 4:12
09 Isödors dronning - 7:45