Click to enlarge
Yggdrasill (CD)
Reissue of this cult 1992 release from the Black/Viking Metal band. Enslaved was formed by Ivar Bjørnson and Grutle Kjellson in 1991, and are based in Bergen, Norway. Ivar and Grutle had previously played together in the death metal band, Phobia. Taking a different route to many of the extreme metal Norwegian bands of the early 90's, Enslaved embraced their Viking history and culture, composing ferocious epics of extreme metal combined with hypnotic riffs and repetitious structures; Enslaved even becoming signed to Euronymous' Deathlike Silence label early in their career. 'Yggdrasill' was the band's second demo (following 1991's feet-finding 'Nema'), showing a young band with great passion and creativity. The songs were understandably raw and contained some traits of the Norwegian wave of black metal sweeping the region at the time, along with their own individual touch. Although more focused on Viking/Norwegian lore than anything Satanic, Enslaved's signature sound still captured the magic of the genre with long, hypnotic compositions losing the listener within their vast sonic landscapes. Over the years, the band has integrated strong elements of progressive music into their compositions. Enslaved has gone on to worldwide notoriety for their stunning live shows and accomplished blend of atmospherics and sumptuous, powerful riffs, receiving numerous accolades along the way, including Norwegian Grammys. This edition of 'Yggdrasill' contains lyrics, as well as new liner notes written by the band.
139 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 10-14 days.
Type: CD
Recorded: 2012
Release Date: 2012-01-31
Label: Peaceville
Country: Euro
Item No: CDVILED356
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 Heimdallr - 6:35
02 Allfodr Odinn - 7:51
03 Hal Valr - 9:01
04 Niunda Heim - 7:35
05 Resound Of Gjallarhorn - 3:10
06 Enslaved [*] - 6:08
Browse by news - 208 items Show as list
7" Used
95 SEK
Cry Me A River = 7" =
199 SEK
Lady Lake = LP =
159 SEK
Vaenir = Digipack =
Pages:  [1 2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 
Items per page: [25] 50 100 
Next page