Click to enlarge
Hammer Of The North = LP = (LP)
Grand Magus are a special band: While tradition is very important to them, they still have the courage to develop their music. Stylistically, they may have come a long way from their dusty self-titled rock debut to their new metal masterpiece HAMMER OF THE NORTH, but the Stockholm trio have evolved without losing touch with their experiences. They have never abandoned the driving groove of their early years or their love of epic doom and extreme metal. Now, their familiar trademark sound is melded with traditional riffs and melodies that rock the same league as Judas Priest and Dio. Lead singer JB not only shapes the ten songs of HAMMER OF THE NORTH with his distinctive, unique voice but also runs wild with his guitar playing. Supported by his rhythm section, FOX (bass) and SEB (drums) push JB to a new all-time high. On songs like 'I, The Jury' he skillfully applies the Halford-shout and matches the tour-de-force of his idol Ian Gillan, and on 'Ravens Guide Our Way' his sonorous vocals plummet to the depths of hell before rising up to Valhalla. Grand Magus also bring their versatile musical wealth on a lyrical level. While previously chief lyric-writer JB often used cryptic images to conceal song content, this time he is more transparent and distinct. The power of nature and the ancient Nordic tradition is his focus on this album, and this is also reflected in the cover artwork by Necrolord (Dissection, At The Gates, Emperor). Swedish history and Norse mythology have been an important source of inspiration. The wolf, which has always been the heraldic animal on the band's coat-of-arms, is a powerful presence: while being a symbol for sheer wildness, he is a classic pack animal and as such also stands for absolute unity. According to the Prose Edda, in Ragnarök the "Fenris" (the wolf) killed Odin, the father of the gods. JB ensures his lyrics precisely match the songs so that when combined with huge choruses, soaring melodic arcs, and powerful riffs they form an explosive unit.
209 SEK 
  Tell a friend   Inform me
Use the form below to send information about this product to a friend.
Your name    Your e-mail
Your friend's name Your friend's e-mail
Enter your email address to be automatically informed when this item is back in stock
Your e-mail   
Not in stock. Usually ships within 10-14 days.
Type: LP
Recorded: 2010
Release Date: 2010-07-02
Label: Roadrunner Records
Country: Euro
Item No: CG44445LP
Customer rating & reviews
Rate this item | Review this item
Track List
01 I the jury
02 Hammer of the north
03 Black sails
04 Mountains be my throne
05 Northern star
06 The lord of lies
07 At midnight they'll get wise
08 Bond of blood
09 Savage tales
10 Ravens guide our way
159 SEK
Grand Magus
Browse by artist: GRAND MAGUS - 17 items Show as thumbnails
Artist - Title Release date Price
1   Grand Magus
159 SEK
2   Grand Magus = Expanded Edition =
129 SEK
3   Grand Magus = LP Transparent Green =
229 SEK
4   Hammer Of The North
149 SEK
5   Hammer Of The North = LP =
209 SEK
6   Hammer Of The North = Ltd 2 CD / DVD...
159 SEK
7   Iron Will
149 SEK
8   Iron Will
139 SEK
9   Iron Will = LP, Silver =
229 SEK
10   Monument - 129 SEK
11   Monument
159 SEK
12   Monument
149 SEK
13   Monument = LP, Blue =
229 SEK
14   Triumph & Power
169 SEK
15   Wolf's Return
139 SEK
16   Wolf's Return
119 SEK
17   Wolf's Return = LP, Silver =
229 SEK
 CD Album   LP